VACATE & RETHINK – This month has offered me tons of challenges, but also a ton of great opportunities. I had the chance to travel to California, Indiana, Puerto Rico, and New York which offered completely different purposes, however, they all really expanded my character in March. When I was home, I prioritized my assignments but took new routes in order to complete my schoolwork. Understanding that homework should only be a portion of your life allowed for me to make more art and read more books these past weeks. Enjoy my monthly favorites below!

 

TO WATCH –

Dior and I – I came across this movie while on a flight and it may be one of my all time favorites. Dior and I follows Raf Simon’s collection as Christian Dior’s first successor, highlighting all of the hectic, moving parts of Paris couture. Raf’s humble attitude and modernized vision are the reason that so many young people, like myself, are attracted back to pompous couture. The craftsmanship of Dior really is incomparable to ready-to-wear collections which I typically gravitate towards. The filming in this movie is impeccable and I highly recommend this for anyone interested in the industry, or if you simply love Raf Simons like I do.

 


Portlandia – If you need a laugh, watch Portlandia. Seriously, the short segments highlight a ton of strange people who “live” in Portland and keeps you entertained with all of the fresh faces. Watch this show; you’ll be longing to visit Portland like I am.

Funny Face – The fashion in this movie is flawless. The plot is based  around Audrey Hepburn’s character, a book store owner, being cast as a model despite her “funny face”. The editorials in Paris and the cinematography really stick out to me, not so much the storyline. I can’t wait to implement all of the looks into my own wardrobe.

 

TO READ –

It – Alexa Chung – Alexa Chung is unreal. Reading this memoir brings you into her creative process and inspirations which explain why she’s the way she is. The page layouts were wonderful for someone who wishes to work in a creative magazine one day. Alexa’s really known for her fashion sense and social status, but the book brings you to the inner workings of her brain.


Introducing Feminism -This novel takes on the women’s movement from the early start to the 1990’s. With illustrations and criticisms of feminists, the history is very informative. It does recall the First, Second, Third Waves but it also fills in the gaps with activists I’ve never heard of. My main issue with the book is that it’s from strictly European and American writers/thinkers, but I do understand that many other regions hadn’t kept track of early feminist movements though I try to learn from a global perspective.

The New Activists  – Interview Magazine released their cover for their April issue, featuring young activists such as Rowan Blanchard, Hari Nef, Amandla Sternberg, etc. Check out these series of interviews to see issues of importance to each person, such as trans visibility,  POC representation, climate change, etc. It’s inspiring to see the path these young people have taken and important to broaden awareness on sensitive issues.

 

TO LISTEN –

All I Want Is You – Barry Louis Polisar

getting it on – SALES

Daisy Chains – Will Joseph Cook

Morning Has Broken – Cat Stevens

Afternoon – Youth Lagoon (relistening because of news that the band is splitting up)

New Year – Beach House

Ophelia – The Lumineers

Weathered – Jack Garratt

 

TO WEAR –

Flare Pants – I can’t really say I’ve been a huge fan of skinny jeans, so I appreciate the cut of pants that most fast-fashion places are turning to. Runways are full of over-the-top, flared pants which have given me license to wear my culottes and striped pants non-stop.


Neck Scarves – I’ve recently seen thin scarves used as chokers, almost, and I knew I needed to take part in the trend once I realized that I’d reblogged a plethora of 1990’s editorials with neck scares. I picked up a black, silk scarf from Arc and have been wearing it non-stop. I’m looking to expand my collection with patterned scarves, but I recommend the trend to give off that old Kate Moss vibe.

Denim – Denim is such a good transitional piece for this time. Shorts, skirts, jackets, pants, shirts, etc. all have been overused in my outfits this past month, especially the denim-on-denim look with different washes.

 

OTHER –

Mansur Gavriel – Known for their bucket bag, the brand has expanded their reach by crafting body suits, mules, flare pants, sunglasses, and so much more over the past month. If I had the money, I would be going bankrupt  for all of the pale, felt pieces that Mansur Gavriel has created for spring. (It also helps when your editorials are stunning and photography is golden). I was in Soho and even got to see the displays in person.

  
Berkeley/San Fransisco, California – I had the opportunity to fly out to the Bay Area in March for a school activity which I’m so grateful for. Despite the gloomy weather, the unique architecture, cable cars, and scenery really set the city apart. I was so inspired by the quirky apartments, muted colors, and diversity in people walking down the streets. I wish I had more time to see all of the thrift/vintage stores…nevertheless, here are some snapshots from the cities.


  
Glossier – Glossier is a makeup line that I’ve seen all over Instagram this past month. While I haven’t made an order on their website, I love the minimalistic look they’re bringing back to fashion. Bushy eyebrows, rosy cheeks, and glossy highlights are all I really want. Below are some high-fashion looks I love which promote the similar, low-maintenance beauty ideals.

Polly Nor – Nor is an illustrator who’s taken over the previous “so sad today” vibe and shifted the focus to appreciating your inner devil. Her pieces are iconic and all the more empowering for females who feel like their existence is sometimes ignored. Check out all of her illustrations on her Instagram, @pollynor! Here are some of my favorites, though it’s so difficult to choose. 

  

Thanks for reading! Let me know any post suggestions or your favorites in the comments below!

Leave a Reply

