FREEDOM & SOLITUDE practically sum up my month of June. New places and new pastimes filled up this month, as well as having time to do things I couldn’t during the school year. Having time to watch movies, painting/drawing, taking time for myself, researching topics I love, and going places with an open schedule, made this month great. I hope these favorites bring joy to anyone reading, and feel free to comment/send me an email if you’d like to take pictures for one of my next fashion posts!

TO WATCH – 

Ghost World – This movie has been killing me because of the insane style inspiration, and Enid’s morbid comebacks at her ordinary life. The cat eye glasses, the leather jackets, the vintage tees, the varsity cardigans…I could go on and on. The main reason this film always connects with me is because of the conversations that occur. To name my favorite angsty quote…”He’s the exact opposite of everything I really hate,” this movie is perfect.

Jimmy Carter: Why I believe the mistreatment of women is the number one human rights abuse – Jimmy Carter, 39th president of the United States, delivered quite a moving speech at the Ted Women 2015 council. He spoke with such honesty on an issue that hasn’t improved much since 1981, and I recommend watching if you’re intrigued about the progress of women. Let’s just say that I was extremely glad that I discovered this Ted Talk.

Hillary Clinton’s Wellesley College Commencement Address – Yes, you probably get that I’m a feminist…Well, I found this commencement speech after seeing a quote from it on the difficulties of being a mother and also holding a career. Mrs. Clinton addressed this in such a genuine way that is easy for any female student to understand, and it nevertheless gave me more inspiration in regards to my future.

TO READ – 

The Unabridged Journals of Sylvia Plath – I’ve heard so much hype around Sylvia Plath that I had to read some of her work, and I loved it. It was a very empathetic tone used in her diary entries, because obviously they were meant to be private, and I could totally relate to her daily mishaps. I now have a better understanding of different styles of writing, in efforts for me to find my own voice when I write.

Girl, Interrupted – Strongly suggest this movie, and also strongly suggest this book. Susanna gets admitted to a mental institution and it follows her treatment as well as all of the patients she meets. I find older mental wards very interesting and the effect they had on the role of women in the house and the workforce. The book is a raw, quick read and will always be one of my favorite story lines, not even AHS Coven can compare.

Finding Feminism in Fashion –  This article really opened up my perspective on how women treat each other in the fashion industry, considering fashion an actual career, and how some people constrict feminism to “slut-shaming” and Photoshop. While I do find these issues worthy of debate, I think there are more deserving problems that need to be addressed for women. Human trafficking, labor rights, forced marriages, wage gaps, etc. still are prominent today. If we only open debate to petty things like Kylie Jenner’s lips, and we call people “bad” feminists for not allowing Kylie to do what she pleases, we are not making any substantial progress for women worldwide.

TO WEAR – 

Sweater Tank Tops – I picked up a knitted, cream Brandy Melville tank top last week and it’s needless to say that I’ve already worn it out 4 times. Perks of a sweater tank top: cozy, durable, and goes well with everything. I’ve paired mine with my Levi’s, a corduroy skirt, and floral shorts, but the options are unlimited. Below, here’s the sweater tank and a simple necklace.

Buttons – After seeing so many people I follow on Instagram show off their cool buttons, I thought I should buy some for myself. (hit me up on instagram…@katerderp) I went to the TC Pride Festival, which was wonderful itself, but I found a couple stellar buttons that I will be wearing everyday this summer. Buttons can look cute on bags, shirts, or my favorite: jean jackets.

Levi’s – Even though it’s getting warmer…you can never go wrong with a great pair of jeans. It hasn’t been too warm where I live, so my dad jeans have made appearances for going on late-night ice cream runs, walking around my neighborhood, and spending the days thrift shopping. As seen below, these are totally casual, but you can look more put together instead of opting for running shorts everyday.


 TO LISTEN – 

The Growlers – One Million Lovers

Seinabo Sey – Hard Time

Girlpool – Plants And Worms

Years & Years – Memo

Courtney Barnett – Depreston

Wolf Alice – She

Most of these songs have been added to my most recent playlist on 8tracks, which you can find hereI suggest you check them out there or look at my soundcloud, but I update this less often than 8tracks. Also, I’ve been totally into making CD mixes for my friends this month and suggest using last.fm to find new bands that are similar to artists you already listen to.

OTHER – 

Obergefell v. Hodges – In more understandable words…GAY MARRIAGE IS LEGAL IN ALL 50 STATES! I am so proud of our Supreme Court, especially the 3 female judges, for progressing our country and allowing love to win. It’s absurd that a high proportion of Americans were held back with this ban, but now these wonderful people can love/spend the rest of their lives with whoever they choose to.

Pressing Flowers – More likely than not, I’ve found myself snooping in my neighbor, or my own yard to cut flowers. Oops…sorry not sorry, mom. I’ve been using the flowers in my journal entries, letters to friends, and simply for admiration of nature. I found a wonderful tutorial on Rookie, and hope you all use it next time you want to add color to a bland diary entry, like this page below.


Watermelon – This is inadvertently weird, but I have been eating watermelon whenever I get the chance. It’s really good for when you’re dehydrated, or when your stomach can’t put down breakfast, and it has numerous vitamins without being dense in calories. GO EAT SOME because you absolutely know I was stuffing my face with a spoonful of watermelon while contemplating putting this in a post…

Thanks for reading this lengthy entry of favorites, adapted from The Messy Heads, and stay tuned new blog post this Sunday about one outfit I’ve been obsessed with! -kg

3 thoughts on “June Favorites

Leave a Reply

