Hi there! I’m very thrilled to be typing this, and to potentially call you one of my “readers” of this new blog, theSuburbStyle. 

Is this going to be another blog that incoherently idolizes Vogue, or discusses what to shop for, without understanding that its audience can’t afford $498 Stuart Weitzman Gladiator Sandals?

I will admit that despite my shoe envy, I hope to make this blog an intriguing, creative place to alleviate style stress, give fashion advice, and share my opinions on some of the latest runways and trends. This blog will mainly consist of fashion styling, as well as some posts that involve music suggestions, free writing/rants, interesting events I attended or traveled to, etc., all without a strict blogging schedule.

You may be wondering, why did Kate start a fashion blog?

I created this blog with the intent of documenting my outfits, hopefully reaching out to a broader fashion community, inspiring/assisting others teenagers’ wardrobes, harnessing my writing in a new form, and mostly, to see how my sense of style can grow and how I can begin to establish somewhat of a name for myself, whether or not I end up in the fashion field in the future.

theSuburbStyle?

Yes, developing a blogging title was tricky, but I decided on this name because it encompasses the obvious fact I live in a suburb of Minneapolis, and addresses the need for an approachable, easy-to-understand fashion source for teenage girls. The oxymoron lies in that my personal style is not limited to suburban trends, but perhaps, my posts can inspire more of an individualistic mindset, when it comes to getting dressed, for girls who’ve grown up in such a stiff, coordinated community like myself.

I am optimistic to the future of this blog, as well as my own future, and hope you stay updated with this blog. You can subscribe to a newsletter at the bottom of this page, which will send you an email every time there is a new post from me. Below, you can browse through my first, styled outfit on this blog, see where the pieces I’m wearing are from, and get excited to keep reading my blog! -kg


          

Outfit:

Sweater / H&M

Layered Dress / Thrifted

Heeled Booties / Zara

Backpack / Thrifted

Sunglasses / NastyGal

Jewelry / Urban Outfitters & Nordstrom Rack

This outfit has some of my go-to pieces, like my booties and sunglasses, but gives an original way to pull out a chunky sweater for a wonderful summer day. (major props go to Mollie Mertes for being an excellent photographer, and to Uptown for having the perfect alleyways.)

9 thoughts on “The Suburb Style: Behind the Blog

  1. Beautiful outfit! Welcome to the blogosphere, I can’t wait to read more from you šŸ™‚ I just followed you, it would be great if we can support each other! I hope you’ll enjoy blogging as much as we all do here ā¤

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I would say that music playlists, cool places to go in your city, morning routines, etc. are always a good place to start!! If you really like online shopping, thrifting, or any other forms of buying clothes, you could document a shopping trip or something!! šŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

      1. You could have someone photograph you at some of your favorite stores at a mall, or thrift stores, and give your personal shopping tips or even a haul of what you got that day. For example, you could have someone take pictures of you by an item that shows a new trend you’ve been loving, or if thrifting, you can give tips through photography at the store! I would have someone take a picture of myself holding up a stained item when thrifting and then explain why you shouldn’t try to clean out stains or markings on items after thrifting! I’m planning on posting a thrifting tips blog post sometime this upcoming week, so you can see what I’m getting at when I post that!! šŸ™‚ Hope this clarifies everything!

        Liked by 1 person

  2. absolutely love it! your style is unique, yet relatable and amazing. it is so fun to see another blogger that we can relate to, as we are also two young, minneapolis based, fashion forward bloggers. can’t wait to see what’s to come and we are excited to follow along!
    jane and laura
    janeandlaura.wordpress.com

    Like

Leave a Reply

